Goth: Incoming!


Apparently, it’s been just over two years since I last updated this blog. Whoops!

I have a good excuse though, I’ve been writing a book called ‘The Art of Gothic’. It’s part of a series of coffee table-style art books published by Omnibus Press and I’ve spent the last few years researching it. I summed it up in one word, shortly after the finished manuscript left my computer. “Immense!”

My previous book, ‘Worldwide Gothic’ was a massive task – I researched the presence of a global subculture that spanned just over 30 years. But ‘The Art of Gothic’ goes even further back, dipping into medieval and Victorian Gothic as well as exploring key visual pieces from the modern music and fashion movements. It was, quite literally, an epic task. But you know what? I enjoyed every single second of it. I loved digging out old record sleeves, posters and fashions and tracing the stories behind their creation and it was amazing to contact the artists behind pieces that have shaped my life. I also discovered new creative whose work I’m really excited to be able to include in the book. It’s been an incredible experience and now I can finally share it with you all.

And so, on Friday 31 October, I will return to the British Library – the very building where much of my research was conducted – to launch the finished book. The institution began their own Gothic season a few weeks ago with the opening of their wonderful ‘Terror and Wonder: The Gothic Imagination’ exhibition. There simply aren’t enough praise-worthy adjectives in the world to describe how excited I am that my new book will be launched an hour before their very special ‘Late at the Library’ Halloween event – tickets for the event cost £15 and include access to my book launch as well as late entry to the exhibition. You can buy advance tickets here  (my book launch runs from 6.30-7.30 in the Conference Centre).

I’ll be back at the British Library the following Sunday for Cultures of the Dark Side: A Day of Gothic Music and Fashion, which is shaping up to be an unmissable event. I have further signings planned including Louder Than Words Fest  in Manchester and, as the book will be published in North America by Backbeat Books, I’m hoping to make an appearance or two out there next year.

Creating ‘The Art of Gothic’ has been a truly wonderful experience but I really could do with a holiday now! I’m just itching to explore some new places and maybe even uncover some incredible gothic (or Gothic!) art on my travels.

Leave a Reply

