The Golden Gods

It’s taken me a day to recover but Monday night was the 10th Metal Hammer magazine ‘Golden Gods’ awards ceremony and what a night it was! I’ve been writing for the magazine since 2005 and I think I’ve been to almost every single one of the awards they’ve held but Monday’s was definitely the best so far.

For the last few years, it’s taken place at the Indig02, otherwise known as the massive 02 Arena’s offpsring, and that’s where it was held again this time round. Inside, there was a mixture of celebs, VIPs from the world of rock and metal, and fans who had won their tickets through competitions. The buzz was just immense and the place was heaving, none more so than when Swedish black metallers Watain performed a short set illuminated by pyrotechnics. It was wonderful to see the younger bands get excited by metal legends from Pantera, Machine Head and Fear Factory who were all there to collect awards. As in previous years, I met so many inspirational people and had so many wonderful conversations that my mind is still coloured with vibrant memories. I even got to meet comedian Bill Bailey who seemed to be having a wonderful time!

The celebrations carried on until the early hours of yesterday morning as we moved onto a lovely bar in Covent Garden called the Foundation – I had never been there before but really liked the venue. They got extra marks for having non-alcoholic cocktails too!

So a massive thanks to Metal Hammer for organising such an incredible event, one that I felt so proud to be part of. It’s always a massive come-down to have to return to real life after a huge party like this but I think I’m finally back with the living now! Here’s to next year!

Leave a Reply

